A Journal of Literature and Art

The final date for consideration in Litfest is in the Spring of 2018.

The first Litfest was held in Spring 2003, the first year of the Writers' House. Litfest is one of many projects that Writers' House has initiated over the years to recognize and support the undergraduate literary community at University of Maryland.

The Jiménez-Porter Literary Prize is an annual writing contest open to all University of Maryland undergraduates. Judges read the manuscripts after names of authors have been removed, to preserve anonymity. Notable judges in years past have included Kyle Dargan, Robert Girardi, Fady Joudah, Terese Svoboda, Rod Jellema, and Antonya Nelson.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2016 Jiménez-Porter Literary Prize!

Prose Awards

Initial Reader: Brendan Edward Kennedy, Larisa Hohenboken
Final Judge: John Dvorak

First Place

Emily Cavanagh

“My Mother’s Mother”

Second Place

Reis Vance

"Sun Falling”

Third Place

Emily Kim

“At the Table”

Honorable Mention

Anna Bella Sicilia for “Daughters” and Alexandra Kindahl for “Re: Can you write the introduction”

Finalists (alphabetical order): Alexander Blinkoff for “Act Yasukawa is a Pro Wrestler,” Warren Griffiths for “My Mother is a Rhinoceros,” Alice Yanhong Lu “Third Son,” Charles O’Melia for “star gazing,” Joseph Zimmerman for “In the Library”

Poetry Awards

Initial Reader: Dylan Bargteil
Final Judge: April Naoko Heck

First Place

Emily Tuttle

“Princess Diana Asks Freddie Mercury to Dress Her Like a Man”

Second Place

Alexandra Kindahl


Third Place

Chelsea Randall

“The Chant-A- Tanka-“

Honorable Mention

Alexandra Kindahl for “Why I Don’t Swim”

Finalists (alphabetical order): Elliot Frank for “White man-poets like to write odes to jazz musicians of the late 60’s.” Sean Glisson for “Places We Weren’t Ready For,” Warren Griffiths for “Seventeen Years,” Alexandra Kindahl for “Michael,” Clayton Krollman for “JELLYFISH ARE JUST WET GHOSTS,” Daphne Pellegrino for “WHEN YOU DON’T KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH YOUR HANDS”

The deadline for Litfest submissions is the Spring of 2018.

The final date for consideration in the Stylus Cover Art Award or Cabrini Art Award is the Spring of 2018.

The Stylus Cover Art Award is judged by the Art Editor, Editors-in-Chief and Layout Editor. The cover contest gives an artist the opportunity to have their artwork featured as the cover design for the journal. The choice for winner of the Stylus Cover Art Award is guided by the theme, tone, and mood of the issue's art and writing for that year.

The Cabrini Art Award is an art contest presented by Stylus for the first time in 2011. The Award winners are selected from a pool of submissions that the editors collectively vote on as finalists for the award. The Art Editor then determines the three winners based on a point system meant to objectively score each piece of artistic merit.

All art submitted to Stylus for publication is considered for both the Stylus Cover Art Award and the Cabrini Art Award. No additional action is required on behalf of the art submitters to be entered into the contests.

The winner of the 2016 Stylus Cover Art Award: Bomi Yoon for “Exit”

Cabrini Art Award

First Place

Lei Yan


Second Place

Hanieh Rokni

"The Empowering Female”

Third Place

Brennan Cox

“The Lost Shoe Collection"

The final deadline for all STYLUS submissions for the 2018 edition is December 29th, 2017.

© 2017 Stylus. All rights reserved.